Internet Guide - Jobs

Career Guides | Job Postings | Michigan Employment | Resumes and Cover Letters | Salary Information | Networking and Support Groups | Resources for Veterans | Volunteer Opportunities | Dealing with Unemployment and More

New: Job and Career Accelerator

Get login info from the Reference desk or login with your driver's license through the Michigan e-Library.

Career Guides

AARP Back to Work 50+: aarp.org
America's Career InfoNet: acinet.org/acinet
Career Builder: careerbuilder.com
Career Education Consumer Report: mycareereducation.org
Career One Stop: careeronestop.org
Career Resource Center: careers.org
Career Toolbox: mashable.com/2008/12/16/find-jobs/
Job Hunt: job-hunt.org
Monster Career Tools: my.monster.com/Career-Management/Landing.aspx
Occupational Outlook Handbook: bls.gov/oco
O*NET OnLine: online.onetcenter.org
Vault: vault.com
What Color is Your Parachute?: jobhuntersbible.com
WetFeet: wetfeet.com/

Job Postings

America's Job Exchange: americasjobexchange.com/
Apply App.ly: applyapp.ly
Career Builder: careerbuilder.com
Career Magazine: careermag.com
Craigs List: craigslist.com
Help Wanted: helpwanted.com
Indeed: indeed.com
Job Bank USA: jobbankusa.com
JOBcentral: jobcentral.com
Jobster: jobster.com
Monster: monster.com
Simply Hired: simplyhired.com
Snagajob.com: snagajob.com
U S Job Board: usjobboard.com
USAJOBS: usajobs.gov

Michigan Employment

*Michigan Talent Bank/Pure Michigan Talent Connect: mitalent.org
Michigan Job & Career Fair Calendar: www.mitalent.org/Job-and-Career-Fair-Calendar/
Michigan Career Events: mitalent.org/Career-Events
Michigan Dept. of Career Development: michigan.gov/mdcd
Michigan Dept. of Civil Service: michigan.gov/mdcs
Michigan e-Library: Southeast Michigan Job Posting Sites: mel.org/index.php?P=SPT--BrowseResources&ParentId=898
Oakland County Civil Service: oakgov.com/jobs
Washtenaw County Civil Service: ewashtenaw.org
Wayne County Civil Service: waynecounty.com

Resumes, Cover Letters, and Interviews

About Job Searching: jobsearch.about.com/cs/resumes
College Grad Job Hunter: collegegrad.com/resumes/index.shtml
Cover Letter Library: careerlab.com/letters/default.htm
Job Interview Questions and Answers: jobbankusa.com/interview_questions_answers/
Monster Resume Center: resume.monster.com
Resume Tutor: umn.edu/ohr/careerdev/resources/resume

Salary Information

Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: stats.bls.gov/oes/oes_data.htm
Salary.com: salary.com
Glassdoor.com: glassdoor.com/Salaries/

Networking and Support

Michigan Networking & Job Search Support: job-hunt.org/job-search-networking/job-search-networking.shtml#michigan
Linkedin: Michigan Unemployed and Underemployed Support Group: linkedin.com/groups?home=&gid=2189224
Intern in Michigan interninmichigan.com

Resources for Veterans

Michigan Veteran Assistance: mitalent.org/Veterans
Veterans' Employment and Training Services: dol.gov/vets/
Hire A Hero: hireahero.org/
National Veteran’s Foundation: nvf.org/
Corporate Gray Online: corporategray.com/
RecruitMilitary: recruitmilitary.com/
VetJobs: vetjobs.com/
Transition Assistance Online: taonline.com/
VA Careers - US Dept of Veterans Affairs: vacareers.va.gov/

Volunteer Opportunities

Forgotten Harvest: forgottenharvest.org
Volunteer Match: volunteermatch.org
United We Serve: Corporation for National & Community Service: serve.gov
United Way for Southeastern Michigan: liveunitedsem.org/take-action/volunteer
Literacy Volunteers of Wayne County: lvwayne.org/programs.html
Michigan Community Service Commission: michigan.gov/mcsc

Dealing With Unemployment and More

Michigan Unemployment Insurance Agency: michigan.gov/uia

Learn more about unemployment benefits and other assistance resources at the Michigan citizen's Helping Hand website.

Also, take a look at this important guide to Unemployment Insurance Appeals Hearings.

Check out the Displaced Worker Assistance and Training Opportunities Guidebook compiled by Congressman John D. Dingell.

For information about other types of area assistance, see our aid and assistance page.

If you need help saving your home, take a look at these foreclosure prevention websites.

Watch videos about filing your claim for unemployment benefits and finding a job in Michigan.


© 2013 William P. Faust Westland Public Library