About the Library - Library Policies
Library Cards |
Temporary Library Cards |
Borrowing Periods |
Borrowing Limits |
Fines and Fees |
Returning Items |
Delinquency Retrieval |
Patron Behavior and Usage Policy |
Internet Use Policy |
Printing Policy |
Meeting Rooms Policy | Unattended Children Policy | Smoking and Petitioning Policy
As a Westland resident, applying for a library card is fast and easy. At the Reception Desk, simply present a valid Driver's License or Michigan ID showing your name and Westland address. Those under 18 must have their applications co-signed, in person, by a parent or legal guardian who must present proper ID.
Your library card allows you to check out material from the Westland Public Library, use our computers, and participate in interlibrary loan. Your library card also enables you to enjoy the services of more than 88 other libraries in Wayne, Oakland, Washtenaw, St. Clair, and Livingston counties. Your card also entitles you to MILibraryCard privileges at many Michigan libraries, public and academic.
Residents of cities with TLN or MILibraryCard Libraries that engage in reciprocal borrowing with Westland may have their Library Cards registered with the Public Library of Westland, and enjoy full borrowing privileges here.
If you do not have a library card for your home library and it is part of The Library Network, you can get a 30-day Temporary Card from the Circulation Desk. This gives you the ability to check out up to two items and have access to our computers for only 30 days. In this time, you are encouraged to obtain a card from your home library. Once the temporary card expires in 30 days, you are not eligible for another Temporary Card or for a Visitor Pass.
- New Adult Fiction: 2 weeks
- New Children's and YA Fiction: 2 weeks
- Magazines and Pamphlets: 1 week
- Circulating Encyclopedias: 1 week
- New Non-Fiction: 2 weeks
- Audiobooks: 2 weeks
- Videos, CDs, DVDs, CD-ROMs: 1 week
- Video Games:1 week
- Books: 3 weeks
- Book Club in a Bag: 6 weeks
Patrons may borrow no more than 7 Music CDs/Cassettes and 7 DVDs/VHS tapes at one time.
Patrons may borrow no more than 3 Video Games at one time.
- Videos, DVDs, CD-ROMs, Book Club in a Bag: $1.00 per day per item
- Video Games: $1.00 per day per item
- All other items: $0.20 per day per item
- Maximum Magazine Fine: $2.00 per item
- Maximum Trade Paperback Fine: $4.00 per item
- Maximum Fine (all other items): $10.00 per item
If you owe over $5.00 in fines and fees, your borrowing privileges will be suspended until you reconcile your account.
- Lost Library Cards: $1.00
- Photo/microfilm copies: $0.10
- Census Films: $3.00
- Returned Checks: $25.00 plus check amount
- Non-Resident Card: $40 (12 mos)
- Non-Reciprocal Card: $100 (12 mos)
- Lost or Damaged Item: Retail Purchase Price - Please note: The Library cannot accept purchased items as replacements for lost or damaged items.
- Processing Fee: $5.00 per item
Please report a lost library card immediately. You are held responsible for all items checked out on your card.
Most items can be renewed twice, except interlibrary loan items and items that have been requested by someone else.
You can renew items through our online catalog (except interlibrary loan items), or by telephone. Be sure to have your library card ready and know which items you want to renew when you call.
If you need to renew, remember to renew your items on or before the due date.
For your convenience, interior book, audiovisual and fragile item returns are just to the right as you enter the building.
The first two drive-through return boxes on the circular driveway in front of the main entrance are always open with the exception of holidays, when all outside drop boxes are closed. You must use the building drop boxes, located at the right of the main entrance doors, on these occasions. These building drop boxes, and the second drive-through return boxes, are open whenever the library is closed.
When the Library is closed, materials returned in any of the return boxes are considered to be returned the previous open day.
Do NOT return items marked fragile or oversized in the outside returns. These items must be returned to the Fragile/Oversize return in the lobby when open.
Please do not return Westland items to other area libraries, or vice versa.
An overdue notice is mailed two weeks after the item due date.
A bill for the replacement cost is mailed 30 days after the due date in the event an item has not been returned.
A collection agency and the Westland Police Department assist the Library in retrieving seriously overdue materials. This process begins 45 days after the item is due. The costs for these processes are added to the patron record.
- Collection Agency Fee: $10.00
- Misdemeanor Notification Fee: $20.00
Please return your Items on time.
You can place requests on all circulating items owned by the Public Library of Westland except magazines and pamphlets. This can be done through our online catalog or at the Reference Desk. Interlibrary Loan is available for items not owned by the Westland Public Library. Go to the Reference Desk to place an Interlibrary Loan request or make it yourself with the Michigan eLibrary's catalog (MeLCat) at elibrary.mel.org/search. Interlibrary Loan is only available for Westland residents.
Printing is available from all public computers. The cost is $.10 per page for black and white printing and $.50 per page for color. Put money on your library card, temporary card, or visitor’s pass at the Circulation Desk (cash or credit/debit card) or at the Reference Desk (exact change only) before you print.
Wireless printing is also available if you are using your own laptop.
For those with a library card, any extra money that has been added to your card can not be refunded, but the balance will remain on your card for use at a later time. We are unable to refund printing money. Please be sure to preview your work before printing.
The Westland Public Library has meeting room space available for the public. Please check for availability at the Circulation Desk. “For profit” entities are not allowed to reserve meeting room space.
As long as a patron has their Driver's License/State ID or their Westland Library Card and their library account is in good standing (fines less than $5.00 and account not expired) then they will be considered Westland residents and have full meeting room privileges. Non-residents have reduced meeting room privileges. Westland Library Literacy Tutors are considered residents.
At the time of room reservation, ID or library card must be provided. A copy will be made of either ID or library card and the copy will be kept at the Circulation Desk until the patron is finished using the room and it is inspected.
Patrons that are 15 minutes late to a room reservation are subject to cancellation if another patron requests a room at that time.
Meeting Room C:
Meeting Room C can seat a maximum of 10 people. It is available on a first-come, first-serve basis, though it can be reserved in advance. Meeting Room C may only be reserved up to 2 times within 7 days by the same person or group. The room cannot be reserved for more than 2 days in a row during connected weeks (for example, a patron cannot reserve the room on Friday and Saturday during one week and then also reserve it for Sunday of the following week).
Meeting Room C may only be reserved up to 2 times within 7 days by the same person or group. The room cannot be reserved for more than 2 days in a row during connected weeks (for example, a patron cannot reserve the room on Friday and Saturday during one week and then also reserve it for Sunday of the following week).
- For Westland Residents:
Meeting Room C can be reserved for up to 3 hours per day.
- For Non-Residents:
Meeting Room C can initially be reserved for 2 hours.
--The time can be extended up to 3 hours depending on availability.
--At the end of their 2 hours, the patron would need to go to Circulation to see if the room is still available for an extra hour.
Tutor Rooms 1 and 2:
The tutorial rooms can seat a maximum of 2 people. They are available on a first-come, first-serve basis, though they can be reserved in advance. The tutor rooms can be reserved up to 2 times within 7 days by the same person or group. The rooms cannot be reserved for more than 2 days in a row during connected weeks (for example, a patron cannot reserve the room on Friday and Saturday during one week and then also reserve it for Sunday of the following week).
- For Westland Residents:
The tutor rooms can be reserved for 2 hours per day.
- For Non-Residents:
The tutor rooms can initially be reserved for 1 hour
--The time can be extented up to 2 hours depending on availability.
--At the end of their first hour, the patron would need to go to Circulation to see if the room is still available for an extra hour.
Children need to feel comfortable in the use of the library and the services and collections designed specifically for them. However, as in any public facility, the usual cautions and dangers exist. The purpose of this policy is to provide for the safety and well-being of children on the William P. Faust Public Library of Westland’s premises.
- All children under the age of 8 must be accompanied and directly supervised by an adult or caregiver (age 13 or older) at all times while in the library.
- All children age 8 – 12 must have an adult or caregiver in the library, though direct supervision is not necessary unless determined so by Library staff.
- The Library reserves the right to request adult supervision for all children under the age of 18 at the Library’s discretion (if the child needs supervision, assistance or has demonstrated that he/she cannot comply with the Library’s Patron Behavior Policy).
- If it has been ascertained that a child under the age of eight (8) years is not accompanied by a parent or caregiver, every effort will be made to contact the child's parent(s) or guardian(s) to notify them of the Library's policy.
- If an adult or caregiver for the child cannot be located, the library reserves the right to call the police to locate the child’s parent(s) or guardian(s).
- Children under the age of 5 must be accompanied to the restroom by a parent or caregiver.
- It is the responsibility of parents to provide means of transportation home 10 minutes before the library's closing. At closing all patrons will be asked to leave the building and wait for a ride outside.
NO SMOKING will be allowed in the Library building at any time.
There will be NO SMOKING or PETITIONING allowed within fifty (50) feet of the perimeter of the Library building. This limit would include any outside library activities.
Any staff member has the authority to ask an individual to move beyond the fifty (50) foot line. However, the staff member will have to speak to the Supervisor in Charge before doing this. An incident report will be placed on file and the person filing the report should have the offender’s name or a detailed description of the offender. After three incidents, the individual will be told to remove themselves from the Library property for a minimum of ninety (90) days.
- Green Corner
- Adult Reading Help
Got a question?
Sign up for our Email Newsletter!