A Board of Trustees Study Session minutes of the William P Faust Public Library of Westland 6123 Central City Parkway, Westland, MI 48185 Wednesday, September 12, 2018

1. Call to Order and Attendance

Meeting called to order at 6:00 by James Higgins Roll Call MEMBERS PRESENT: James Higgins-President-Present Gayle Nicholson-Vice President-Present Kathryn Sample-Treasurer-Present Gary Chappell- Present Julie Laliberte-Present All members present

> STAFF PRESENT: Ishwar Laxminarayan- Director- Yes Sherri West-Administrative Manager- Yes Paula Scarlett

ALSO PRESENT: Michael McNamara-Library Attorney

- 2. <u>Action on Agenda</u> None
- 3. Business
  - a. Review financial reports for 2017-2018

Ishwar presented the budget ending June 30, 2018 as voted and approved by the library board and city council. He explained this report was incomplete as the city has not been audited. The library anticipates receiving a final copy anytime around late October 2018.

He explained what he has learned of the practice in the past few years concerning the budgets. Currently the library does have a healthy reserve fund. There will be a list of requests for expenditures in October. The director would like to spend more money on collections. 4. New Business

Motion to proceed to closed session to discuss collective bargaining updates. Motion: Gary Chappell

Support: Julie Laliberte

James Higgins-President-Present- Yes Gayle Nicholson-Vice President-Present- Yes Kathryn Sample-Treasurer-Present- Yes Gary Chappell- Present- Yes Julie Laliberte-Present- Yes Motion Approved Closed session- Collective Bargaining update

Motion to reopen meeting from closed session. Motion: Gary Chappell Support: Gayle Nicholson James Higgins-President-Present- Yes Gayle Nicholson-Vice President-Present- Yes Kathryn Sample-Treasurer-Present- Yes Gary Chappell- Present- Yes Julie Laliberte-Present- Yes Motion Approved

- 5. Citizens Comments in General
- 6. Board Member Comments

## 7. <u>A motion to adjourn:</u>

Motion: Gary Chappell Support: Julie Laliberte James Higgins-President-Present Gayle Nicholson-Vice President-Present Kathryn Sample-Treasurer-Present Gary Chappell- Present Julie Laliberte-Present Motion Approved